Back Home, Continuing the Enlightened Experiences, and Never Again the Same

Well, I have been back in Georgia for a week now, but have been busy unpacking, slowly, and continuing the adventure here.  I just figured I had better put the tentative punctuation on this tale.

To be honest, after covering 13,556 miles in 1,304 hours (54 days and some change), which means I covered an average of 10.4 miles per each hour of the trip, I needed time to decompress a little.  Yeah, nerdy, I know, but I am an engineer.

Upon leaving the AFB I was just destined to cover miles to get home.  No stops, just get home.  That didn’t last long.  When I saw a sign for Russell Cave National Monument.  Sold.  I had never heard of the cave, but I had to check it out.

After arriving I find out the cave is known for being a refuge for Native Americans thousands of years ago, and I see why.  It would be a pretty sweet spot to live for sure.  It was a little wet, but I’d of loved to kick it there for a while.  Unfortunately, this isn’t allowed.  Upon leaving the cave, I saw some other places for future adventures, but they were like a theme park due to the time of year, so I just made my way home.

Since it was my last free weekend before restarting work, I knew what I had to do, head to one of my all time favorite places, Skydive The Farm.  This turned out to be a great idea, and accumulated into an amazing day filled with seeing old friends, making new friends, and having easily some of my best skydives to date.  The pups also got a lot of attention about their uniqueness and devotion to me.  They’re my little champs!  They and I will definitely be spending more time at the DZ from this point forward.  Got some major goals to accomplish.

After finally hitting the bike trails again and doing my first HIIT workout session in months, I realized just how out of shape making this whole trip happen around school and ROTC made me.  I have a lot of work ahead of me.  Time to finish getting ready for the semester, continue my mental and physical progression, and keep this great energy and momentum flowing.

The amount of learning, internal and external, experienced from this endeavor couldn’t be sufficiently expressed in this blog.  You have no idea how much you can change until you do.  The ability of adaptation and endless growth are why Humans are capable of such miraculous achievements.  You must harness and cultivate your inner strengths while acknowledging and working on your weaknesses.  No one else can do this for you.  The fortitude and ability to do so is what separates the great from the mediocre.

A few things to be taken away from this experience, but definitely not an accumulation of everything learned:

1)  Don’t put off that big endeavor, or dream, because you fear the amount of risk associated.  Fear itself is merely a figment of your own imagination, and it will only limit your progression and quality of life.  Without risk, there is no chance of greatness.  The only way to ensure failure is to not try.

2)  Take life as it comes.  Over planning and controlling will greatly narrow your range of possible adventures and experiences.  Step out of your comfort zone and follow the opportunities presented to you.

3)  Trust your instincts.  If you have a desire to venture down that random road, literally and hypothetically, do it.   Without such action the rewards awaiting at the end of the road will always be unobtainable.

4)  Connect with your surroundings.  Rather it be walking barefoot through the dirt and grass or sparking a conversation with a total stranger.  These interactions with the world around you will only improve your life.

5)  Be a promoter of positive energy, not negativity.  This has been known for a while, but focus has been increased due to very recent new connections bringing me new enlightenment, and it cannot be stressed enough.  The world will send you energy resembling that which you release into it.  If you want positive happy experiences, then release positive and happy energy.  This can be achieved in many ways ranging from performing random acts of kindness for fellow living creatures, by not getting upset in day-to-day hindrances, and just minimizing negative talk and thoughts.  Only you can control, and change, the quality of your life.  I guarantee you this isn’t ranting hippy talk, it works and will impact your relationship will everything around you, everything.  Just try it.

This is definitely not the end, or even close, it was merely the beginning.  Until next time, spread the love and good vibes, and be as open and as adventurous as possible.  The miraculous experience of life awaits you.

Russell Cave entrance

Russell Cave entrance

Russell Cave.  It even has a running water source and pool!

Russell Cave. It even has a running water source and pool!

Russell Cave - Indigenous mother.

Russell Cave – Indigenous mother.

Russell Cave - Indigenous grandmother preparing food.

Russell Cave – Indigenous grandmother preparing food.

Russell Cave - Not sure what he is, but I like the energy he's portraying!

Russell Cave – Not sure what he is, but I like the energy he’s portraying!

Russell Cave - Tried to talk to this guy about moving in, but he didn't respond.  Guess I'm not cool enough.

Russell Cave – Tried to talk to this guy about moving in, but he didn’t respond. Guess I’m not cool enough.

Russell Cave

Russell Cave

Russell Cave view

Russell Cave view

Russell Cave

Russell Cave

Never been so happy to see this sign.

Never been so happy to see this sign.

Skydive phantoms heading for the last load of the day.

Skydive phantoms heading for the last load of the day.

Sunset load

Sunset load

Sunset swoop

Sunset swoop

Skydive The Farm.  I didn't take this, just a favorite.

Skydive The Farm. I didn’t take this, just a favorite.

Skydive The Farm Sunset.  I didn't take this, just a favorite.

Skydive The Farm Sunset. I didn’t take this, just a favorite.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Back Home, Continuing the Enlightened Experiences, and Never Again the Same”

  1. marek says :

    good to see you made it home. sounds like you had a blast!

    • aws140 says :

      Thanks, bud. Home and getting ready to start back on the grind. It was awesome, and you only helped make it better! Keep me posted on the big move. I am sure we will cross paths again,

  2. Carol Milani says :

    Wow what a great way to start my day with all your positive energy ! Thank you for sharing your trip with us, the photos and the wording made me feel like I was there myself 🙂 can’t wait to read about and see the great pictures from your next adventure across our beautiful America with your gorgeous little pops, sincerely Carol Milani

Leave a Reply

