Montana Beauty, Synergy Energy, and onto Canada!

So many different things, from many different tangents on this post.

Camped out in a hotel parking lot just North of Missoula to expedite getting to Kalispell.  Instead of setting up the whole bed system I crammed in with the pups.  It proved faster, but at a reduction in sleep quality.  After snagging some breakfast from a local venue, enjoying some good conversing with the girls working the counter, the pups and I were again heading North.

While in route to Kalispell we passed Flathead Lake, which was something I wanted to see.  After swinging into a state park, seeing how clear the lake really is, I knew one thing, I wouldn’t be much on an adventurer if I didn’t take this opportunity to jump in.  Having tested the water and see how very cold it was, I planned ahead and boiled some green tea for after jump celebration.  Since the park staff was lurking around and didn’t want people jumping off the docks I had to relocate.  Less than 1/4 mile down the road wss my spot.  A nice picnic setup with docks designed for swimming.  I setup my camera and Gopro, and attempted my second ever gainer attempt, my first being from the back of a SKyvan at 14K feet, into the freezing waters.   Long story short, the gainer didn’t happen, things seem to be much easier for me from an airplane, but I made it into the water, so it was a success!  The video may be uploaded in the near future.

After arriving in Northern Montana I was able to meet up with the great team at Synergy.  There is a lot of knowledge and potential brewing in that workshop.  All ranging from the designer, John, to the interns from all over the world.  Some interns venturing from Embry Riddle in Florida to sea hoping from The Netherlands.  Synergy isn’t as big of a secret since accomplishing obtaining the cover of Popular Science magazine, but some MT locals will be surprised to know of such big things brewing in their own backyard.  There’s definitely a great vibe in this small team, and I would have loved to spend more time around, helping and trying to not interfere with the productive groove they have going, but alas, Alaska is calling!

Thanks to some input from one of those interns, thanks again Bailey, I was able to score a pristine camping spot about 50 miles from the shop.  It was off the beaten path, down a daring entrance “road”, and another waterfront resort.  No swimming this time, and even though a bear had been spotted in the area, no bear sightings.

Unfortunately, due to weather and lack of jumpers I wasn’t able to make a skydive in MT, but I know I will surely be back in the area in the future and I intend to satisfy my altitude addiction in Canada and/or Alaska.

Montana has proven to be by far one of my favorite states thus far.  Ranging from the great people, atmosphere, and vast abundance of Nature.  This place has endless amounts of potential for me, and has a very strong chance of being in my living plans in the future.

Once I finish posting this, and doing some tentative route planning through Canada, the pups and I are heading North.  This time, into Canada!

Quick sleep system.  May not provide the best sleep, but it comes with a furry pillow.

Quick sleep system. May not provide the best sleep, but it comes with a furry pillow.

DSCN0903

Low MT clouds

Low MT clouds

Low MT clouds

Low MT clouds

Low MT clouds

Low MT clouds

I told you Apollo was following Karma's lead.

I told you Apollo was following Karma’s lead.

Clear water of Flathead Lake.

Clear water of Flathead Lake.

Puppies enjoying the shores of Flathead Lake.

Puppies enjoying the shores of Flathead Lake.

Apollo checking out the SUREswivel while playing at FLathead Lake, MT.

Apollo checking out the SUREswivel while playing at FLathead Lake, MT.

SUREswivel letting the pups roam while keeping them out of the freezing waters of Flathead Lake.

SUREswivel letting the pups roam while keeping them out of the freezing waters of Flathead Lake.

SUREswivel letting the pups roam while keeping them out of the freezing waters of Flathead Lake.

SUREswivel letting the pups roam while keeping them out of the freezing waters of Flathead Lake.

Making something warm to drink for after jumping into the freezing waters of Flathead Lake.

Making something warm to drink for after jumping into the freezing waters of Flathead Lake.

My entering and exiting point for the jump.

My entering and exiting point for the jump.

That was a great way to get refreshed before meeting up with Synergy!

That was a great way to get refreshed before meeting up with Synergy!

Found a nic 85' GSL just like my old daily driver for sale in Kalispell.  RIP Cookie Monster.

Found a nic 85′ GSL just like my old daily driver for sale in Kalispell. RIP Cookie Monster.

There are RX7s everywhere here!  This places keeps getting gaining points in my book.

There are RX7s everywhere here! This places keeps getting gaining points in my book.

MT

MT

MT

MT

Heading to campsite.

Heading to campsite.

Heading to campsite.

Heading to campsite.

MT campsite

MT campsite

Meet Nuk-Nuk the 6+ year old blind squirrel rescued by the father of Synergy designer, John.

Meet Nuk-Nuk the 6+ year old blind squirrel rescued by the father of Synergy designer, John.

Nuk-Nuk's squirrel mansion.

Nuk-Nuk’s squirrel mansion.

Say hello Nuk-Nuk.

Say hello Nuk-Nuk.

Nuk-Nuk

Nuk-Nuk

MT campsite.

MT campsite.

MT campsite view

MT campsite view

1366192559_popular-science-usa-may-2013-1 a synergy

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

