From WY, through Tetons and Yellowstone, and into MT

Busted out some miles today.   It’s a good and bad thing.  Drove through the Teton and Yellowstone parks.  They were cool and had lots of potential for wilderness play.  The downsides: no wilderness play with the dogs, no bear or wolf sightings, and way too many tourists.  I’ll get some local advice for future adventures there from an inside source, you know who you are, but at this time I highly prefer national forests over parks.  More trees, less vehicles.

Once I crossed into MT I stopped at Livingston for a break.  Just as I was getting local camping advice and getting ready to leave a nasty hail storm rolled it and filled the parking lot with hail.  So, instead I decided to bust out miles.  As each mile passed my interest in MT grew exponentially.  This is one beautiful state without a lot 0f potential.

I am currently sitting in Missoula, MT (Lowe’s is a great source for Wifi, FYI), and am heading to Kalispell tomorrow.  In Kalispell, I am supposed to be meeting up with the awesome team behind the new reknowned airplane design I love, Synergy.  Weather permitting, while in Kalispell I should be seeing MT from 9K ft with a skydive, but the weather isn’t looking too promising.

Pending how things go tomorrow, I may be crossing into Canada later tomorrow or early Thursday.  The border crossing should prove eventful with all of the vacuum sealed dog food I have on board.  This will be a true test of my political skills.

Still not sure on a route once I hit Canada.  I have a general idea and I’ll let it play itself out.  It’s worked great thus far!

Onto pictures!!

MT sunset

MT sunset

Tetons

Tetons

Tetons

Tetons

What did they say about not getting close to the bison?  Oh well, we do what we want.

What did they say about not getting close to the bison? Oh well, we do what we want.

Who needs a beach when you have this?

Who needs a beach when you have this?

That's a whole lotta lake!

That’s a whole lotta lake!

Bison!  They're everywhere!

Bison! They’re everywhere!

Yellowstone

Yellowstone

Spotted a nice Burro camper for inspiration at Yellowstone.

Spotted a nice Burro camper for inspiration at Yellowstone.

DSCN0846

Elk are rather abundant as well.

Elk are rather abundant as well.

DSCN0854

Here comes the hail storm!

Here comes the hail storm!

Ice anyone?

Ice anyone?

DSCN0864

Planes on trains!

Planes on trains!

DSCN0868

MT

MT

Someone needs to let them know they're doing it wrong.

Someone needs to let them know they’re doing it wrong.

Passed out puppies

Passed out puppies

MT sunset

MT sunset

MT

MT

MT

MT

5 responses to “From WY, through Tetons and Yellowstone, and into MT”

  1. Marley says :

    Awesome blog!! I hope you got to go sky diving!

    Marley

    • aws140 says :

      Unfortunately, no skydiving in MT due to a mixture of the weather and timing. I’d have to wait around a few days, and the pups and I are heading into Canada today. Maybe next time I’m in your beautiful state!

  2. Rosangela Oliveira says :

    Awesome! I want to see more pics ; )

Leave a Reply

